Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikon 80-200 f/2.8 - which version to get?

Real Name
    Blake

Nikon 80-200 f/2.8 - which version to get?

I know there were a few versions of the Nikon AF 80-200 f/2.8. I'm now in the position where I need one (I'm now shooting for the university newspaper, and they will frequently want sports shots). I'm still restrained by budget since I'm a student, so I'm looking into some used 80-200 lenses. Anyway, all I know is that some are push-pull and some are two ring. Does anyone have any feedback on them? Or are they all more or less the same?

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Re: Nikon 80-200 f/2.8 - which version to get?

I believe that the camera(s) you are using will play a role in the choice.
    Maybe mention that info so the Nikonian Experts can better advise you.

I haven’t used Nikon for a while, but my advice predicated on the fact that you DO HAVE a camera which WILL Auto Focus with this lens - is to look seriously at the:

Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8 AF-D ED Macro (‘new production’) – identified by the NON removable tripod ring mount.

Rationale for my suggestion: very good AF speed.

WW

Real Name
    Blake

I have a D90, it will autofocus AF lenses.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Quote Originally Posted by blakemcguire View Post
    I have a D90, it will autofocus AF lenses.
    Here are a couple of thoughts for you, especially as you are planning to shoot sports:

1. You want fast focusing, which means the internal motor is going to do a better job for you than the screw drive lenses. Your D90 can handle both. So look at this feature. I understand that the push-pull zooms are particularly slow focusing. This is going to drive you towards the newer SWM (Silent Wave Motor) models.

2. Image stabilization is going to be useful for hand-held sports shots, especially if the lighting is not the greatest. Again, this is going to drive you towards the newer models.