Thread: Do I need to write down my camera's settings while in the field?

Real Name
    Daniel

Do I need to write down my camera's settings while in the field?

I have a hop plant which is currently flowering; I want to use this flower to practice my plant portrait. If I make some adjustments to the cameras settings in the field (AKA my backyard) will I have to write them down or is there a photo processing software that can tell me what my settings were in the field. I am asking because the LCD screen on the camera as we all know is not really a good judge of photo quality. But I would hate to have to write down all my settings while in the field.

Do you more advanced guys just make changes and fire away knowing its free to trash the bad photos later?

Thanks in advanced for helping out a noobie.

Real Name
    Gretchen

Re: Do I need to write down my camera's settings while in the field?

I am a newbie too! I write them down as I am shooting only because I can't remember from one shot to the next. For later reference, I can access them thru Photoshop. There is probably some way to access them from the camera while looking at them, but I haven't figured it out yet.

I hope you are having as much fun as I am!

Real Name
    Dan

Digital images include metadata, such as the shutter speed, aperture, lens focal length, etc. This can be viewed from within virtually any photo editing program, as well as many image viewing programs, such as irfanview. The amount of data the camera will give you on the lcd probably depends on the camera. On mine, it shows file format, shutter speed, aperture, color space, white balance, and metering mode, but you have to cycle through a few screens to get it all.

Real Name
    Brad