Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Best Accessories

Real Name
    Daniel

Best Accessories

I have an Olympus E-500 with (a 14-45mm and a 40-150mm) kit lenses. I recently just got introduced into filters more specifically UV filters as a bit of extra insurance for the lens. I was chatting with a pro photographer at a local off road triathlon we were both shooting. Needless to say he started to lecture me about respecting the lens in a dusty environment; he suggested using a UV filter. This got me thinking about needed accessories for the camera. I like to shoot triathlon (both on and off road), mountain biking, road biking, nature (landscapes and wildlife). What would be the best items to complement this type of photography? I am currently looking into tripods, maybe a monopod.

My “smaller” lens backs out to 14mm would getting a wide angle type lens offer any advantages?

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Best Accessories

Daniel

I'm no expert on shooting sports action, but I would have thought that you 14-45 was going to let you get wide enough for almost everything you'd want.

For sports action, I would have thought that, if you need the support, a monopod would be a better option that a tripod. But, it doesn't look too large a lens for handholding and given you'll, I presume, be shooting at high shutter speeds, then do you need to monopod? If you are shooting all day, then it may well be a worthwhile investment.

Real Name
    Daniel

Quote Originally Posted by Donald View Post
    Daniel
    For sports action, I would have thought that, if you need the support, a monopod would be a better option that a tripod. But, it doesn't look too large a lens for handholding and given you'll, I presume, be shooting at high shutter speeds, then do you need to monopod? If you are shooting all day, then it may well be a worthwhile investment.