Thread: Buying my first DSLR

Real Name
    Josh

Buying my first DSLR

Hi,

First off, I'd like to apologise because I'm sure you get these threads half a million times a day.

I'm looking at buying my first DSLR camera. I've had some experience with DSLR's in the past, more specifically the Canon 60D and 600D. As such, I'm looking to stay close to home. I've found a 600D coupled with 18-55mm IS II and 55-250mm II lenses for $800, which is pushing the top end of my budget.

Ideally, I'd like to eventually move into macro photography as those sorts of images fascinate me, however, I do not have the money to buy a proper macro lens at the moment.

Is my choice a solid one? I'd be happy to take suggestions for alternate options.

I'd also like to say how helpful the tutorials on this site are. They've proven invaluable when I've been borrowing camera's in the past.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Real Name
    Christopher

Re: Buying my first DSLR

Hello Josh,

I'm going to suggest you buy a Nikon DSLR, not because Nikon lenses or bodies and paraphernalia are any better than Canon's, but because of the great back compatibility of Nikon lenses. By way of illustration, my Nikon D7000 is compatible with more than 700 Nikkor lenses going all the way back to the 1960s.

Good lenses hold their value very well, while the price of bodies plummets fast. If you buy into the Nikon system, when you have outgrown your first body, or it is becoming obsolete - a quick process in these digital times - you will still have your lenses to carry forward to your new upgraded body.