Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ring-necked Parakeet shot with P510

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Ring-necked Parakeet shot with P510

A Ring-necked Parakeet - I seem to be attracting quite a few of these to the garden this year with peanuts

Nikon P510 at 180mm: 1000mm (FFE), 1/160s, f/5.9, iso400, EC -0.66 (243_2105_DH_ed1)
    Hit Kbd F11 and click image to see at 1,200px × 900px (recommended)

Not everyone likes them, being non-native here, although now very well established.
    I have to say, they are very noisy blighters!

This was shot from an open first floor bedroom window, while the subject was perched in a Magnolia tree, checking it was safe to feed.

I am still learning how to get decent quality from my fairly recently acquired Nikon P510 - it only shoots jpg, but was a MUCH cheaper (and lighter) way of getting 1000mm Full Frame Equivalent (FFE) than a 750-800mm lens for my D5000.

This is framed as shot, no cropping
    Levels adjusted (it was a bit under exposed)
    Cloned out some extra twigs on right and 'terminated' the one that was 'escaping' in the middle - hopefully so it doesn't take the eye out of frame
    Local Contrast Enhancement with USM (20%, 90px radius, 0 threshold) (helps with feather detail)
    Downsized from 4608 x 3456px to 1200 x 900px (helps with noise and percieved sharpness)
    Sharpened with USM (90%, 0.4px radius, 1 threshold)

Hope that info. helps and I'd be interested in feedback (esp. on IQ; image quality).
    I am already thinking it is just a bit too tightly framed and I should have added a bit of canvas to get more space below bird and branch.

Thanks,
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 24th July 2012 at 08:50 PM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Ring-necked Parakeet shot with P510

A couple of things make this work for me, Dave.

• The background harmonises with the colour and tone of the bird (at least to my colour-blind eyes it does!)