Thread: Newbi here and to digital

Real Name
    Travis

Newbi here and to digital

I worked as a professional photographer for a while about 20 years ago..of course shooting film..doing my own B&W Darkroom work, printing my own prints etc..Had to leave it for awhile and just came back to the digital world..I've been searching through all the forums on digital photography and am really disappointed at the lack of knowledge of basic photography by the majority of users of digital. The new younger photographers who never shot film seem to not know much about F stop, shutter speeds, ISO, depth of field etc...Digital has made it too easy to achieve an acceptable photo with little knowledge when everything is set to auto. In my mind, whether digital or film, the basics are the same..Ansel Adams Zone system is not obsolete..it translates to digital as well as I am learning. It has been an advantage to me to pick up my first DSLR and see that all of the terminology is the same (except now it is Noise instead of Grain). I know I am rambling a bit but good photos are made..they just don't happen..everyone is a photographer now..shooting with their cell phones and itty bitty digitals.....My friends look at my photos and ask "What kind of camera do you have that can do that?" The art of the photographer seems to have given way to the technology.

Real Name
    Robin

Re: Newbi here and to digital