Thread: PS (CS5) - easy way to clone out same object in multiple images?

Real Name
    Ian

PS (CS5) - easy way to clone out same object in multiple images?

I'm just beginning the long, steep climb of starting to learn PS, guided by Martin Evening's book (which was doubly recommended here)

One of the things I know I'll need PS for is cloning (or patching) out distracting elements in pictures, which can't be eliminated in the original...

An example of is in photographs at a music-dance performance in April. I was fairly close to the stage to one side, with little opportunity to move around, as that would have disrupted the performance. I got some reasonable pictures, but from where I was standing there is a very bright red fire extinguisher at the far end of the stage, which is very distracting.

It's not in the same place within the frame in each image so as far as I know, I'll need to clone it out from each image... quite a laborious process, especially as I'm very new at this, so still learning how best to do this on each image anyway. Is there a quicker way, though..?
    Ian

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: PS (CS5) - easy way to clone out same object in multiple images?

There's no way top automate it's removal if it's not in the same place, but there ARE a number of techniques for removing it, and some will work better than others.

How about posting a typical shot here (preferably at a high resolution) (or post a link to the image that we can download a high resolution copy from) (or get it to me and I'll host it for you) and let us take a look at it for you.

Often the quick select tool + a small selection expansion + content-aware fill works like a charm.

Real Name
    Ian

Hi Colin,
    Thanks for this... I can't seem to get link to give a bigger image in the lightbox, but this should be a link to the original (cropped) file, 3607 x 3045px
    I'd want to clone / patch out the fire extinguisher and the notice above it.
    Ian