Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Flowers - Camera Play

Real Name
    Jo

Flowers - Camera Play

I was playing with my camera today and thought this was a nice shot. Hope everyone enjoys it. Feedback and/or criticism to improve is welcome. I'll try to post more pictures of flowers I took if I can figure it out. lol. This is my first attempt. I am an amateur, so please be kind with your criticism. Thanks.

Flowers - Camera Play

Flowers - Camera Play

Flowers - Camera Play

Flowers - Camera Play

Real Name
    Greg

Re: Flowers - Camera Play

Hi Jo,
    There are some wonderful colours in your photo's, alas they all suffer from lack of focus. I suspect this is from being hand held shot at too slower shutter speed.
    Your exif data says all the photo's are at 1/60 sec.
    If your camera has a manual control increase the shutter speed to freeze motion better or use a tripod.
    As for composition, that comes with practice, I'm still working on that myself
    But as a guide look to have a single focal point in your photo that the viewer is draw to straight away then they can explore the rest of the image. This focal point doesn't have to be in the middle of the frame.
    Do a bit of reading on the rule of thirds.
    Look for distracting elements in your photo before you press the shutter button. Things like feet and camera straps in the last photo sort of take away from the effect you are trying to achieve.
    Photography is an amazing and rewarding hobby. Stick with it and it will give you immense pleasure.
    All the best Greg
    Ps, Keep the photo's coming

Real Name
    Jo

Hi Greg,