Thread: Photographing sports

Real Name
    Mike

Photographing sports

Hi all. My daughter plays softball, which is like baseball but with a slightly larger, and bright yellow ball. I would like to get some good action shots of plays at the bases or nice swings while the girls are batting. I can't be on the field so I plan to be about 100 - 200 ft away from the action. Would a nice 70-300 lens do what I'm asking?Light should not be an issue because we will be outside. Shooting with a Canon XsI. I'm a complete novice so any advice would be appreciated.

Re: Photographing sports

Will you require close ups or more general overall shots?

300 mm should suffice for the latter category. Anything bigger will start to get expensive.

You will require a fairly fast shutter speed but you will probably be OK if the light is good. I'm thinking about a lens which is somewhere around F4 wide open. Going for F2.8, for example, will, once again, get expensive; although it would give greater flexibility.

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnypar View Post
    Hi all. My daughter plays softball, which is like baseball but with a slightly larger, and bright yellow ball. I would like to get some good action shots of plays at the bases or nice swings while the girls are batting. I can't be on the field so I plan to be about 100 - 200 ft away from the action. Would a nice 70-300 lens do what I'm asking?Light should not be an issue because we will be outside. Shooting with a Canon XsI. I'm a complete novice so any advice would be appreciated.
    Please define "a nice 70-300 lens"?

How old / what level of play are the Girls?

What lenses do you already have?

For example:
     The EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM on a 450D will do a reasonable to very good job, provided you have the light.
     If you are at 200ft, then you could crop a bit to get a Full Length Shot: if "about 200ft" means 300ft, then your lens is not long enough