Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First posting attempt - playing puppy

Real Name
    Fredrik Rodhe

First posting attempt - playing puppy

Hi,
    This is my first attempt at posting pictures, having followed several forums for a while. The pictures are of our 3 months old puppy playing in the garden, in the first one chasing her older (7 years) sister/stepmother. Love to ger some C&C. And yes, I know that I cut off a paw and some tail in the second picture.
    Fredrik

Real Name
    Greg

Re: First posting attempt - playing puppy

Hi Fredrik, Welcome to CIC.
    That's a great looking pup I'm sure you will have a lot of fun with her.
    Both photo's are sharp enough and show a dog at play which is what you wanted to portray to the viewer. I do feel that they suffer from the subject being too tightly cropped. Perhaps more room in front of the subject would help this type of shot.
    Hope you enjoy this forum, It's a great place to learn.
    Cheers Greg

Real Name
    Wayne Turner

Hi Frederik, They are sharp enough. A few things which may improve future shots. One is to get down to their level so that your not looking down on them ( a good rule for all creatures, especially children), and another is to use a big aperture to fade out the back ground and define the dogs more(2.8 to 5.6). Welcome to CiC and keep shooting.

Real Name
    Richard

One plan that I always use when photographing moving dogs is to shoot LOTS of images and then when I am through, I shoot some more for insurance. You cannot shoot too many images because there are always going to be a number that will be discarded due to poor focus or framing. That is the wonderful advantage of digital over film, virtually free shooting.