Thread: A beginner's guide to photography for total beginners

Real Name
    Alexander Rose

A beginner's guide to photography for total beginners

Preface
    Last year in fall, I bought my first DSLR and started taking pictures.
    I very quickly found the Internet to be an incredible source of wisdom and inspiration with a bunch of websites that really stand out of the crowd.
    You are without any doubt reading this on one of the finest among them.

By no means would I claim to have found the one and only truth.
    I am a beginner just like you. I make mistakes over and over every time I put my hands on my beloved camera – and even worse, I miss incredible shots every day because I haven’t developed my perception to a point that allows me to see good pictures the way a more experienced photographer does.

It’s a Saturday night / Sunday morning, I am working a 12 hour night shift and have plenty of time at hand. Everything I’m writing here just comes to my mind in a random order.

I have more ideas what to write about, so if there’s any demand, please let me know and I’ll have this article grow.

Also, English is not my native language so if I do make mistakes, please bear with me.

And if you find any factual errors, please be so kind and correct me.

Buy the most expensive gear you can afford!!!
    That’s imperative!
    All the pros use these incredibly expensive full format cameras and these nifty fast lenses.
    That’s why their pictures look so great, right?

Imagine the following situation:
    You meet your old pal Helmut Newton and agree to make a competitive shooting somewhere in a nice loft-like studio. There is a lot of natural light, an incredibly beautiful model in sexy lingerie and Helmut and you share an assistant, a diffuser and a reflector.
    You get the Nikon D4 – THE flagship in all its glory, total bling-a-ling at your disposal and access to each and every single Nikkor lens there is. You’re a pro now!