Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Foveon reds re-visited - a Fix

Real Name
    Ted

Foveon reds re-visited - a Fix

Having displayed some recalcitrance in a previous thread on Foveon color rendition, see here, it's time to eat some humble pie and to thank all those gentlemen such as Colin Southern who all mostly pointed a finger in the right direction.

I had played the "I'm only a watch hobbyist" card to the hilt and blatantly declared no intention of upgrading software, changing my lighting, etc, ad naus. I even sold the Sigma SD9 in a fit of pique. Well, I've been regretting that particular move.

So:

I now have Camera Raw 5.4 installed (the latest possible with PSE6). That brings the ability to select DNG camera profiles for an image or a set thereof.

I've downloaded Adobe's free RAW to DNG converter.

I've downloaded Adobe's free DNG profile editor with it's sliders and such.

I've ordered a Macbeth mini card.

I've returned the newly purchased Nikon D90

I've bought a Sigma SD10 on eBay

A steep learning curve lies ahead but "Cinderella, you shall go to the Ball . ."

Thanks to All,

Ted

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Foveon reds re-visited - a Fix

No worried Ted.

As a "born again" starting point, why not see if someone already has a DNG profile for a SD10 - it'll be a LOT easier than using the DNG profile editor. (or splash out another $100 and get a Color Passport) (worth their weight in gold).

I still don't believe that the SD10 will be any sharper than a camera with a conventional sensor though, and capture sharpening pretty much compensates 100% for the bayer sensor and anti-aliasing filter.

Real Name
    Ted

Quote Originally Posted by Colin Southern View Post
    No worried Ted.

As a "born again" starting point, why not see if someone already has a DNG profile for a SD10 - it'll be a LOT easier than using the DNG profile editor. (or splash out another $100 and get a Color Passport) (worth their weight in gold).