Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Color Checking - the Hard Way (warning: CFL content!)

Real Name
    Ted

Color Checking - the Hard Way (warning: CFL content!)

After venting mild disappointment with Foveon color rendition here it became clear that CFL's are not highly regarded by many photographers. So, after a bit of Googling I found an example of that discontinued and fast disappearing species, namely the GretaMacbeth mini-card, just right for a table-top photographer to investigate other means of lighting. While waiting, I wondered if there was another way since, as a watch photographer, I'm not too concerned about skin color, nor greenery for that matter.

I had taken a shot of a tri-phosphor CFL lamp's spectrum sometime back using a Sigma camera. I also found a spectral power distribution graph (see item [6] on the page), which was conveniently annotated with the phosphor emission peaks. Here they are:

The chemical symbols are for the three phosphors used: mercury, europium and terbium - the latter two being doped. Knowing the phosphors used allows one to look up their emission wavelengths, for example, here.

Thus we find that the highest two peaks above (Hg and Tb3+) are for wavelengths of 547 and 542nm, almost as green as it gets in the world of color ;-)

By this means, one is able to guess that the Foveon was a little bit off in this shot, providing something more like yellow.

Almost made me want to go out and buy some Halogens and burn my fingers :-) but, instead, I sold the camera and bought a D90 in it's place . . .

Ted
    Last edited by xpatUSA; 30th April 2012 at 12:48 AM. Reason: getting old . .

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Color Checking - the Hard Way (warning: CFL content!)

Okay; I'm impressed. Not everyone would go out and build a spectroscope to figure out what the spectrum of a CF was. Is the D90 going tp perform any better? You are still going to have to deal with that ugly green spike.

Real Name
    Ted