Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Help Needed Capturing Night Scenes

Help Needed Capturing Night Scenes

Hi
    I am new to digital photography and started out with a basic setup ( Nikon D40 ). I am more than happy using this at the moment because I am getting good results.

I actively devour any books , tutorials etc and I am very keen on using Adobe CS4 to improve my exposures.

What I currently have a problem with is taking shots at night ( example a street with yellow lights from lamposts ) My exposures are sull and washed out so any tips would be benificial. Look forward sharing with members.

Brian

Real Name
    Mark Fleming

Re: Introduce Yourself & Welcome Other Members (2)

"What I currently have a problem with is taking shots at night ( example a street with yellow lights from lamposts ) My exposures are sull and washed out so any tips would be benificial. Look forward sharing with members."

Brian,

Welcome, mate.

We'd need a bit more info to help you out, pal!

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Help Needed Capturing Night Scenes

Quote Originally Posted by roar4more View Post
    What I currently have a problem with is taking shots at night ( example a street with yellow lights from lamposts ) My exposures are sull and washed out so any tips would be benificial.
    Hi Brian,

Great to have you with us

Some sample shots would help, but in a nutshell ...

... Modern cameras can still only capture a limited dynamic range (the range of brightnesses from the brightest to the darkest). In a daytime scene this is often sufficient (or close to being sufficient), and thus - with a correct exposure - we're able to capture both shadow and highlight detail.

Night scenes however have a far higher dynamic range requirement - and the bottom line is that there isn't a camera in existance that will capture everything from pitch black to the filaments in the light bulbs; so something is going to have to give. But what?