Thread: Attempt to feather

Real Name
    Kenny

Attempt to feather

This was my first shoot with a largish softbox (60cm). I've been using umbrellas and small (20cm) softboxes until now.

I attempted to use Colin's advice about feathering the light, and I was pleased from the results in general; there seemed to be far less specular highlights than I get with an umbrella. I'm not sure if this was a result of the softbox or the feathering. The last lighting book I was reading said softboxes give MORE specular highlights.

Canon 50D with Canon 70-200 f2.8 USM
    Exposure Time = 1/250"
    F Number = F4
    Exposure Program = Manual
    ISO Speed Ratings = 400

I was using a hair light for this shoot, but it doesn't look it made it into this shot.

Any suggestions or commentary would be appreciated. Thanks!

Attempt to feather

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Attempt to feather

Hi Kenny,

I'm no expert, but I'll 'hold the fort' until Colin sees this

My thoughts;
    I'd PP dodge around her right eye to get a bit more detail there
    I find the 'disconnected' knee a distraction, might be worth cloning out, or cropping/framing a bit lower so the arm and leg are joined in shot (if you know what I mean)
    You haven't said what focal length was used, possibly a little longer (and shot from further away) would have given a less 'chunky' right arm and hand
    I did notice a lack of hair rim light, but with this background and the pool of light on wall, it isn't too much of an issue for me

I do like the shot though, it has a lot 'right' about it; composition, focus, DoF and general exposure/tonal range.
    The arm and hand do focus your attention on her eyes and they are sharp and have nice catchlights.

Wouldn't mind seeing it bigger though.

Let's see what the expert thinks

Cheers,

Real Name
    Kenny

Hi Dave, thanks for the input.
    I'd PP dodge around her right eye to get a bit more detail there