Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Nikon Travel/Portrait Lens Advice Needed

Real Name
    Rich

Nikon Travel/Portrait Lens Advice Needed

Hi - this is a question about purchasing a new lens. I understand the technical differences and pros and cons of the lenses, my question is more about the practicality and I was hoping some people with experience in travel and on location portraiture might be able to offer their opinions as what will suit my needs best.

I am going to a refugee camp in Thailand to undertake my elective as part of my medical training. I am a reasonably experienced amateur photographer and as part of my elective I hope to talk to and photograph people I come into contact with, as part of an artistic/journalistic reflection (may be presented with writing/interviews) on the trip. This will hopefully mean taking some planned portraits but in situations where I am not in control of lighting. I will not be taking a flash. I will also be taking general travel shots - some candid portraits, landscapes, village scenes etc.

I will mostly be working staying in/around a particular clinic but will be going on an odd work.

I also do love shooting local wildlife when I get free time, i'll be taking my 70-300mm Nikkor which I'll be able to use for that kind of thing but it is big and heavy and not suitable for the odd walk on which I might spot an animal.

I currently mostly use my Nikon 35mm 1.8 on my D60 and I love it. My choice is between buying the:

1)Nikon 50mm 1.4
    2)Nikon 18-200 VR
    3)Not buying anything

My thoughts are:

50mm
    + Better for head/shoulders portraits, Good for low light (especially considering my old D60 sensor) Small/portable, Really nice glass, Will be useable on full frame camera i may buy in 2-3yrs
    + May really give a professional edge on portraits
    - Don't know how useful it will be with the 1.6 crop factor - not likely to do low light close up portraits

18 - 200mm