Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Power = nite time

Real Name
    Ryan Thomas

Power = nite time

Hi all

My first shot with my new (first) camera.

Any tips/advice/help/Criticism would be appreciated

Regards
    Ryan
    Power = nite time
    Last edited by Noddy; 6th April 2012 at 09:48 PM.

Real Name
    Bobo

Re: Power = nite time

Congrats on becoming a photographer and for posting your first pic.

Nice clean shot. The tower and smaller structure to the extreme right are tilting inwards, try to correct that in your editing software.

Real Name
    Ryan Thomas

Hi Bobo

Thanks for the advice.

I is still need to get me some software. What would you recommend for starters?

Real Name
    glenn

nice shot ryan this appeals to me as im an electrician
    i am a novice also but would think the best and most popular software is adobe photoshop with lightroom.
    keep the photos coming

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Ryan - Well done and congratulations. What camera have you got?

As for hints/advice etc - Practice, practice, practice. Get to know that camera like the back of your hand. Get so familiar with it that someone could lock you in a black room and you'd be able to everything without even being able to see the camera. Get it to become an extension of your fingers.

If your tempted to use the camera on 'Auto' - don't. If you have the option of 'M', 'Av', 'Tv', on the Mode dial make yourself a rule that you'll use one of these three settings.

If you have the option on your camera to shoot in RAW rather than JPGs, go onto RAW now and never come off it (unless you're into photo-journalism and need to get stuff back to your newspaper quickly). If you're not familiar with the different file types, then please do read this CiC tutorial.

And finally - enjoy it. Your practice and your learning will be rewarded when you start producing the sort of images that you've looked at and wondered 'How did they do that?'

Real Name
    Bobo