Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: raw troubles..

raw troubles..

One question ..(there will be more)

I have a Canon eos 300D with which i shoot raw, the files can be opend with elements 5 correctly but i don't see the option to convert them in to jpeg ( only jpeg 2000) so i do it now this way.

1 copy the raw files on to a map on my pc
    2 keep the originals still on the memory card (CF)
    3 import them in Photoshop elements 5
    4 save as *.png into a folder of my desired place and location
    5 close photoshop
    6 go to the Location
    7 select *.png folder
    8 open up Microsoft pro photo tools
    9 select them (batch)
    10 save as *.jpeg
    11 press enter and wait

luckyly i have a pretty fast pc but it must be able to do it more simple..
    or isn't that possible?

remember i am still a newbie with elements..

is this the only way or am i doing it the complex way?

Real Name
    Chris

Re: raw troubles..

Hi Dirk, I wonder if you should have a look at Canon DPP (free) or DxO for the early stage of processing 300D shots.

For the Nikons, you can use Nikon View NX (free) or DxO.

DPP auto-runs when camera is linked via USB cable. View NX auto starts after (free) intermediary Nikon Transfer prog. DxO needs prior arrangement into selected libraries, but works from unedited RAW or NEF.

They all have a menu item for swift transfer to 2nd stage editing, ie where the degree of edit is greater and especially the need is to edit selected part(s) of an image. DPP & View NX also incorporate the original RAW/Nef file so that you can revert to it thus obviating need for multiple versions.

DPP & View NX have the benefit of simple RAW/NEF conversion using the manufacturers' provisions for its RAW format. DxO on the other hand relies on laboratory analysis of images taken with specific camera bodies and lenses and giving you either auto or manual corrections accordingly.