Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Black and White Flower -- Does it work??

Real Name
    Kathy

Black and White Flower -- Does it work??

I have no clue when it comes to Black and White photo's -- here is a photo, teach me what I need to know!! Thanks so much!!

Kathy

Black and White Flower -- Does it work??

Real Name
    Bobo

Re: Black and White Flower -- Does it work??

I quite like it.

Real Name
    Clive

Hi Kathy, I'm no expert but I like it, I like the tree bark more than the flower probably because of more detail.

I wait with anticipation for the answers to your question. I also battle with B&W as I'm not too sure as to what makes a good B&W image.

Real Name
    Wayne Turner

Hi Kathy, it works for me and I too like the tree trunks and bark. It is well composed and I like the light. I'm not the black and white photographer but I like this.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Quote Originally Posted by Kathy O View Post
    I have no clue when it comes to Black and White photo's -- here is a photo, teach me what I need to know!!
    Line, Shape, Tone, Texture.

What you're trying to do is make something visual that has no colour for the viewer to use a reference point or to provide the visual interest/excitement/pleasure.

So, it's got to be interesting enough without colour to grab and hold attention. So what have you got to play with - Lines : Shapes : Tones : Textures.

So what have you got here?
    • There are good strong lines running at angles that make for pleasant viewing
    • There are clear, discernible shapes that provide alternative areas of interest
    • There's good range of tones from light to dark
    • There's texture in the bark and in the petals of the flower

So, a pretty good start to B & W production.