Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Monitor color calibration - spyder ok?

Monitor color calibration - spyder ok?

What do you think about this program for calibrating my computer screen? I'm new to all of this but would like to start working in RAW.
    http://spyder.datacolor.com/product-mc-s2e.php

~Heather

Re: calibrating

Just read this thread. Spyder3 color calibration
    Now I have an additional question. Should I or shouldn't I? I want to start printing more of my pictures (if it ever stops raining I can start taking some again) and have also had a few people ask me to take some pictures for them.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hi Heather,

Just be aware that the Spyder III by itself is just for monitor profiling; if you have a printer that you want to profile as well then you'll need the Spyder III Elite package.

The benefit you get really depends on how far out your existing monitor is ... it might already be spot on or it moght be miles out, so I quess that the spyder really gets you two things: 1, accurate colours and levels, and 2, peace of mind in knowing that you've plugged another hole where something could go wrong.

Personally I find it a bit frustrating in that you'll pay good money for it and hardly ever use it - but that's just part of the joy of the game I'm afraid

Quote Originally Posted by Colin Southern View Post
    Hi Heather,

Just be aware that the Spyder III by itself is just for monitor profiling; if you have a printer that you want to profile as well then you'll need the Spyder III Elite package.

The benefit you get really depends on how far out your existing monitor is ... it might already be spot on or it moght be miles out, so I quess that the spyder really gets you two things: 1, accurate colours and levels, and 2, peace of mind in knowing that you've plugged another hole where something could go wrong.