Thread: Acronyms

Real Name
    Jim Christian

Acronyms

I am new to this digital photography as far as now I'm really trying to learn. I read the threads of topics I'm interested in but have tons of trouble understanding what is being said because everyone uses acronyms to describe their processes. Is there a list of what most of these are anywhere that I could use to understand what is being said. I am light years behind the curve of digital photography and it's language. HELP
    Thank you anyone.

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Acronyms

How about this...

http://www.wonderfulphotos.com/artic...eras/acronyms/

It is missing a couple. I am sure other members can contribute more acronyms...

OOF: out of focus
    IQ: Image quality
    VC: Tamron's vibration control

Real Name
    glenn

[QUOTE=rpcrowe;197832]How about this...

hi richard that looks like a useful site for beginners,thanks for the link.
    glenn.

Real Name
    glenn

Quote Originally Posted by rpcrowe View Post
    How about this...

OOF: out of focus
    IQ: Image quality
    VC: Tamron's vibration control

richard i have just read your biography on your website.
    i have got to say firstly what a fantastic career and life you have lead,and are still living.
    i bet i could spend hours listening to you recalling past activities of your career and life.
    and on top of all that your a dog lover as well. great stuff
    regards glenn.

Real Name
    Steve

Real Name
    Richard

I have worked with digital still photography for years and years. I have also worked professionally a a cinematographer and motion picture director. However I am now learning digital video.

Much of the terminology of still digital photography and cinematography is directly transferrable to digital video but, I have a whole new lexicon to learn such as: