Thread: File size & printing

Real Name
    Peter

File size & printing

I have images I want to print on A4. The original image files are 4288 x 3216 pixels. I also have a copy or copies at 1000 x 750p or 900 x 675p Does the file size matter? I'm quite new to this printing game. Any help would be useful.
    Thank you in advance

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: File size & printing

Hi Clive,

Normally one would run with the highest resolution file available (there's normally no disadvantage, whereas there are likely to be disadvantage to printing with lower resolution files). In this case the 4288 x 3216 image will give you a resolution of around 366PPI, which will be just fine.

Real Name
    Steve

Hi Peter; the more pixels the better. I've got an interpolation program that uses the more accurate Mitchell method and any I may want to enlarge and print I do first time round to save the bother later. It makes absolutely no difference to the quality of prints around A4 or smaller.

Real Name
    Dan

I'm also a relative novice at printing. However, you might want to check out this. The end suggests that in some cases, you would want to downsample for small prints. (Read the very end, along with the attached graphic).

I've avoided all of this by printing from Lightroom's print module, which takes care of this. All you have to do is specify the DPI you want for the printer and the print size. As long as there are enough pixels, it does the rest for you. So far, printing mostly 8*10 (~A4) and smaller, the results have been very good.

Just a couple of extra thoughts, Peter. By A4 size, do you mean a print area which is full A4 or are you using A4 paper and producing a print which will have a plain unprinted border. Which would reduce the actual print area; say something around 250 mm on the long side.

Also, are you printing yourself or going to a printing company?