Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Depth of Field

Real Name
    Prathima

Depth of Field

Hi Everyone

I am new to the forum- my aplogoies if this is in the wrong "track". I am an amateur, so your constructive criticism ( technical and composition) to improve the landscape/nature picture is apprecaited.

Picture taken at the Walter Sisulu Botanical Gardens on 11 March at 09h25 in Johannesburg. I was practicing DOF in the photo by following the fence with my camera.

EXIF: f/4; 1/800; ISO-200; exposure bias -0.3 step; focal length- 28mm; metering mode partial and camera mode- AV. No post processing other than size reduction. I will be returning to the gardens - earlier in the day and would like to take the same pic following your input - hopefully I will see improvements-.

Depth of Field

In my honest opinion- it look like something I used to take when I owned a point and shoot with no photography edcation-. A rather distressing situation.
    tx- Praths

Real Name
    Paul

Re: Depth of Field

Praths, you say you were practicing DOF. You don't say what you were going for. All in focus? A portion OOF? F4 is pretty narrow (DoF).
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 15th March 2012 at 07:49 PM.

Real Name
    Andrew

Praths, when you go back, take a tripod. It will help you more clearly see where the focus is and the boundaries of the DOF.
    I can't tell on my screen where those are in this shot. Keep on trying, you will get better.

Real Name
    Bobo

If all focus points are active then playing with DOF will be "different".

Real Name
    Russell