Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: cropping and thumbnail image.

cropping and thumbnail image.

hey , I am a IT student and am currently working on Bit depth and sampling rate.

I am looking for the solution to both questions below as i cannot figure it out myself.

If I was to crop a image , For example turn a picture of a whole person into just a head shot , Would this be related to reducing the bit depth or reducing the sampling rate? why?

If I was to turn a image into a thumbnail image , Would this be reducing the bit depth or reducing the sampling rate? why?

thanks!

Real Name
    Andrew

Re: cropping and thumbnail image.

So grasshopper, you seek easy answers to a teachers questions without understanding the questions. They are not related. If you look and discover what bit depth and sampling rate are and how they are defined and used you will see the light and know the answers are no. Think "data", not light grasshopper.

you have to teach someone something before they can answer in this case it hasn't been , NOT asking for just the answer, Im asking for the explanation to the answer aswell , i have read thoroughly through my text book and online into bit depth and sampling rate with no conclusion as too relativity on either image editing technique.

Real Name
    Andrew

I don't believe either are related to bit depth...... but it wouldn't make sense for you to do a piece of work that isn't related to the topic you are currently working on , Bit depth and sampling rate. so in theory one or the other has to be bit depth and or sampling rate .

Real Name
    Remco

Quote Originally Posted by webapple View Post
    I don't believe either are related to bit depth...... but it wouldn't make sense for you to do a piece of work that isn't related to the topic you are currently working on , Bit depth and sampling rate. so in theory one or the other has to be bit depth and or sampling rate .