Thread: Photoshop and RAW

Photoshop and RAW

I'm new to digital and recently a lot of helped me to understand Histograms ... I've just been snapping away getting used to my camera and the basics of digital.

It probably won't surprise most of you that I'm really disillusioned with the results. I realize that maybe I should be shooting in RAW ... although I don't really understand how/why yet ... and so far I have no software and am also confused about Photoshop ... e.g CS3 ... CS4 ... Paintshop pro ... I don't know what any of it means and what do I need?

I shoot mainly landscapes and architecure ... Can any of you help an idiot understand ... I've read a few of the posts/threads but as usual there are lots of abreviations thrown around and terms I've never heard of ... you can check out my basic snaps on Flickr, Perth45 ... MANY THANKS TO ANYONE WILLING TO GIVE SOME ADVICE.
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 13th June 2009 at 11:32 PM.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Photoshop and RAW

Hi "Perth45",

I'll be glad to help - but - I think it's best if we work through the issues one at a time.

So, commenting on the issues you raised ...

It probably won't surprise most of you that I'm really disillusioned with the results.
    Rather hard to know where to start unless you can give us some idea about what aspects of the results your disillusioned with. We really need some examples posted too.

I realize that maybe I should be shooting in RAW ... although I don't really understand how/why yet