Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Do you guys carry weapons while photographing?

Real Name
    James

Do you guys carry weapons while photographing?

I live in Los Angeles, CA and am amazed by some of the urban scenery. Many of the places I want to photograph, such as underpasses, train tracks and etc are not the best places to be alone at night with thousands of dollars in camera equipment. So as a newbie, I'm curious to what everyone does in order to help protect themselves and their equipment?

Do you bring a buddy along? Knife? Machete?

Any tips or tricks would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Real Name
    Graham Heron

Re: Do you guys carry weapons while photographing?

At the very least, a cellphone with 911 on speed dial, and a hell of a lot of insurance.
    Recent riots have shown that photographers are now targets, not only for the kit, but also for anonymity.
    Once someone pulls a firearm, I don't care how many back-up mates you have with you.
    And a bladed weapon is the same, unless you have a heck of a lot of training to deal with one - and even then....
    Try a web search for others interested in similar photoshoots. They are more likely to know what areas are safe, yet still be able to get the type shots you wish, and you should be able to arrange a meet-up.
    Graham
    Also be aware, that insurance may not cover you if you put yourself deliberately into dangerous situations.

Real Name
    Allan Short

I would suggest the SAS or the French Foreign Legion now those guys are real mean SOB's.

Allan

Real Name
    John

Think about where you are going and what the people in that region might find sacred and you will find your answer to your question as to whether or not you should even be there.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)
    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamH View Post
    Once someone pulls a firearm, I don't care how many back-up mates you have with you.