Thread: Photography of biological specimens

Photography of biological specimens

Hello,

I am biologist, however high-minded that may sound (and rather dull ) on the onset of my photgraphic actions. I have no prior experience in photography, but now i must take some serious photos. My objects are skull skeletons. The fact is that my analysis exerts some serious standardizations of taking photos of specimens. I am in doubt not so much of the type of camera that i should use, but of the construction of some kind of holder. With the help of that thing i could orient every skull precisely in various planes. Specimens are numerous and standardizing photographic environment is essential to analyzing them later. Should i use some wood construct, metal, or even plexiglass is beyond me. It should be lightweight because thees are field photos. Also it should contain mechanism for accommodating skulls of various sizes, and orient them in regard to some marker.

Any ideas?

Real Name
    David

Re: Scientific photography

Hi Dumbdora - I'm not sure about the specifics of what you ask, but I would have thought that there must be scientific texts on this type of photography. Probably even basic forensic texts would give some information about standards and protocols for such shots. Perhaps there are others on the forum that have more expert advice.

Cheers

David

PS Welcome to the forum.

thanks David,

belive me i searched and i searched through scientific community and forensic texts also but always they hide their methodology or, in most cases there is none. They rely on experience solely so measurement mistake is unpredictable. I am thinking on some kind of grip, like the ones used to hold lighting...i guess

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi dumbdora,

Firstly, please tell us a real first name (err, Dora?), so I don't have to call you dumb everytime! Ta.

OK, I'm an ex-engineer and I like a challenge, but I need to know more.