Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Digital photos appear dull compared to velvia film

Digital photos appear dull compared to velvia film

I am new to digital, using a Nikon D3....so far I am still just taking pictures and learning the differences between digital and film....so far I'm not impressed one bit....despite trying to remain true to doing everything 'in camera'....the results are pretty dull in comparison to Fuji Velvia....even with a polarizer and 81C warm up....So far I have not used any software....I have the Nikon 'Capture' which came with the camera....but I just don't get it at all...and as usual...it fails miserably in explaining itself......so I probably need photoshop.....I do landscapes and architecture mainly....ANY SUGESTIONS PLEASE.....

Re: photoshop

Hi Perth,
    have you tried different picture control modes? customized vivid mode? download D2X modes? have you download velvia picture control? there are also Astia and Agfa picture controls out there that you can download.

Ray

Perth45