Thread: Landscape, shooting into the sunset

Real Name
    Cheryl

Landscape, shooting into the sunset

I tried every setting on my camera (M,A,P,Auto,Landscape,Sunset) and they all came out similar to this. What is the secret to a great sunset photo out in the woods? I shoot in NEF and I have not touched this photo yet. I have Adobe Element 10 and also Lightroom 2. Do I need a filter?

Real Name
    Jack R Mann

Re: Landscape, shooting into the sunset

I WOULD HAVE used a split nd filter 2to3stops that would let you bring out foreground and blend with sunset. i am just an amateur, i think you did the best you could without filters, keep trying comp looks good to me just need some tlc.

Real Name
    Wayne

Yes, I am sure that a neutral density filter would have been helpful here. And I wonder what would happen to a shot like this if it were taken in HDR? I have very little experience with this so far, but it seems to me that HDR is meant bring out shadow detail. Maybe some wiser heads can jump in here.

Real Name
    Paul

Cheryl,certainly a GND would have been my first choice here, however there would have been some merit to doing an HDR provided you could get the shots without the clouds or trees moving. Below I have used an HDR program to give you an idea. I try to be rather light handed with the proscess as to not make it unreal. It would have been much better working with 3 or more to merge and full size.

Last edited by jeeperman; 19th February 2012 at 06:16 AM.

Real Name
    Pierre

Cheryl
    These types of shots do offer a large dynamic range that the camera cannot capture in one image. The filter would have helped. One thing I have learned shooting with filters, is practice, practice and more practice. Plus less images are taken with the work setting up the shot (not necessarily a bad thing).