Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: studio lighting

Real Name
    Rod

studio lighting

Hey all,

I'm looking for studio lighting but don't know what type I should get; baring in mind I have no experience with studio photography. Should I get cheap flashes and soft boxes i.e. tape 2 cheap $70 made in Taiwan type of flashes together,learn studio photography and then buy the expensive lighting once I feel I have the experience and knowledge? or just save the money until I have enough to buy some good lighting?

Real Name
    John

Re: studio lighting

Quote Originally Posted by mrrod View Post
    Hey all,

I'm looking for studio lighting but don't know what type I should get; baring in mind I have no experience with studio photography. Should I get cheap flashes and soft boxes i.e. tape 2 cheap $70 made in Taiwan type of flashes together,learn studio photography and then buy the expensive lighting once I feel I have the experience and knowledge? or just save the money until I have enough to buy some good lighting?
    I'd check a How to Book. I would think that the size of your studio and ceiling height will play a large part in how much lighting you will actually need.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hi Rod,

It's a "how long is a piece of string" type questions I'm afraid. How big is your studio?

I run up to 5 lights and 2 reflectors in mine; I would find only 2 lights pretty limiting.

Real Name
    Rod

The work area of the studio is about 20' x 20' ceiling is about 8' high, although I can extend it to 40' x 20', it's my place of work and my boss has agreed to let me use the area for a studio, plain cream walls with wooden floor set-up. The two lighting was an example, I guess I meant to say is 2 flashes together x the amount of soft boxes so i.e. 6 cheap flashes if I were to use 3 boxes.

Real Name

Hi Rod,