Thread: Macro's

Real Name
    Wayne Turner

Macro's

I took this one yesterday morning. I'm new to macro so would like some feedback please. Macro's

Re: Macro's

What camera settings, Wayne? The Exif may be attached to the image but some of use are unable to extract it.

Your depth of field is a bit shallow but in many cases that is all which is available for a macro shot. Ideally, for a shot like this I would use F14 or maybe F16; and add a bit of flash if necessary.

The only other comment is that, if possible, I would like to have seen the whole of your subject. But that is just an artistic thing. I often take part shots like this for identification purposes.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Wayne,

You saved this as png instead of jpg, which is what is preventing EXIF extraction

Geoff has most things covered, the only thing I'd add is that macro may be new to you, but don't overlook the basics of presenting an image with a decent dynamic range; this only spans from 37 to 194 of the 0 to 255 luminance range (although the blue channel does go to 241).

Cheers,

Recently someone here on CiC put me on to Zerene Stacker (Snarkbyte).

It is a focus stacking software that I'm trying out, and so far it's working very well. I've used CombineZM (free) and tried Helicon, but Zerene works best for me.

With this simple technique you can greatly improve the depth of field of your shots.

http://zerenesystems.com/cms/stacker

Glenn

Real Name
    Dariusz Kowalczyk

This blue mushrom is beatiful. The depth of field appears to be correct - the first plane is not lost in the background. Perhaps except one line in the bottom-left corner. However it is a little unsharp, probably because you was shaking the camera. Or maybe sharp ...

Real Name
    Wayne Turner