Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Frustrated with 7D video capability

Real Name
    Richard

Frustrated with 7D video capability

Am I using my 7D video correctly? I have been a pretty efficient professional cinematographer in my earlier life but, for me, shooting video with my 7D is darn awkward…

It seems like the 7D can autofocus during live-recording but, the focus 'searches'. I can’t follow-focus a moving subject using autofocus and manually follow-focusing by use of the relatively small LCD held at a distance from my eye is really difficult to me.

Zooming is another problem for me. The relatively short traverse of, say, my 70-200mm f/4L IS lens from wide to tele range, makes manual zooming rather clumsy for me.

When I used a 16mm Arriflex motion picture camera, I had through the lens viewing capability which allowed me to follow focus accurately and smoothly. Additionally, the relatively long traverse of the 12-120mm Angenieux zoom ring allowed fairly smooth manual zooms.

Another problem I seem to have is to be able to quickly pick up a moving subject or even a still subject using the LCD. When I use my 70-200mm lens at 200mm and am viewing with the LCD, I have a hard time picking up any specific subject without moving the camera around to find it. When I am shooting with the eye level TTL viewfinder, I can automatically lock in on a distant subject even when using my 300mm of 400mm lenses without a lot of searching. The camera is automatically pointing at where my eye was looking. Not so when the viewing the LCD at a distance from my eye. Additionally, when following a moving subject, it is far more natural for me to aciieve a smooth pan with an eye level viewfinder. That is because when panning, I shift at my hips which pretty well allows the camera to rotate around its basic nodal point rather than panning at arms length.