Thread: Need Advice HDR....

Real Name
    Dave

Need Advice HDR....

Dear Folks,

I am really "taken" by the beauty and slight "surrealistic" nature of High Dynamic Range photography. I am a novice but would like to purchase equipment that I can grow into (not have to replace for a few years). On say a $3000 budget, what cameras and lenses are recommended for this type of photography? I will probably look at refurbished cameras and lenses. Any thoughts on the SonyA77 for this? Is a Canon 60D good for this? And which mid-range Nikons are recommended?

(I'll need to leave a little room to purchase Photoshop and Photomatix, maybe a used MAC computer to boot).

Thanks to all who respond.

Dave

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Re: Need Advice HDR....

Hi Dave. This kind of question is on the mind of many folks that want to enjoy photography and thus has been posted many time in this forum. Usually the first few replies seek to determine what kind of photography you would like to do. Although almost any camera can do any kind of photography, the majority of the budget is not spent on the camera body but on the rest of the kit for lenses, software, lighting, bags, filters, lighting... the list goes on and on. My camera, new with a basic lens, was about $600 (US) but the rest of the kit, not including a PC, is over $2,000. Studio lighting can be expensive and so can telephoto lenses for wildlife but if you prefer landscapes you could get by with a smaller budget.

Whether you decide on Nikon, Canon, Sony, or any other DSLR, once you start buying lenses, you are pretty much locked into that brand for additional lenses and accessories.