Thread: Pentax lens to Nikon D3000

Real Name
    Lyn

Pentax lens to Nikon D3000

I have a Nikon D3000 SLR and a friend recently gave me on loan an old Pentax film camera and it came with a 200mm zoom lens.
    Is there any way I can attach the Pentax lens to the Nikon body?
    Any help would be gratefully received

Real Name
    Chris

Re: Pentax lens to Nikon D3000

Depends on the type of lens - whether an adapter will work.

Various thoughts: https://www.google.com/search?q=Pent...ient=firefox-a

Real Name
    Lyn

please bare with me, im very new to this... the lens has on it. SMC Pentax-M Zoom 1:4.5 80-200mm Ashati Opt. Co..Japan.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Lyn, I did a web search for this lens and based on what I see in the following link, a Pentax K-mount lens will match several other manufactures of cameras, but not the Nikon F-mount. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentax_K_mount

Chris has pointed out a lens adapter that 'might' work but may have limited capability. I would tread carefully when mismatched components are fitted together as often the cost doesn't provide a viable solution, there is increased risk of damage, and in some cases, warrantees may be voided.

There is another nasty little problem with making a lens fit another camera - the register distance (RD).

The RD is the distance from the mounting flange on the camera (and the rear of the lens) to the film or sensor plane. This value is different for different camera systems.

This distance influences whether a lens from one system can be mounted with an adaptor to a camera body of another system. In order to achieve focus to infinity without corrective optics, the RD of the lens must be greater than that of the camera body it is to be adapted to, giving room for the adaptor.

The following are the RDs for a few manufacturers:

Nikon and Fuji = 46.50 mm
    Pentax/Samsung/Contax = 45.50 mm
    Konica/Minolta/Sony/Alpha = 44.50 mm
    Canon EOS = 44.00 mm
    Olympus 4/3 = 38.67 mm