Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: which photo editing program ?

Real Name
    Charlie

which photo editing program ?

I am a beginner need some help to choose which photo editing program shall I go for. On a couple of photos that I took recently, one can see a small red/orange round circle. Can anyone tell what had caused this and if it can be removed.

thanks
    Charlie

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: which photo editing program ?

Charlie

On the images - I would suggest posting them up on here so that people can see what you are referring to. Without seeing that, it is difficult to comment.

As to post-processing software - Again it would be helpful to know if you are in a position to spend a lot of money on something, or are you looking for something that won't cost much, or any, money?

The market leader is Adobe and its suite of software. 99.99% of the world uses one or other Adobe package. Many of us on here use the open source package 'The GIMP'. Others use things like Canon's DPP that comes bundled with Canon DSLRs. Picasa is another free-to-use package. There is a huge market out there. What you want/need is dependent on what it is you want to do and what your photographic ambitions are.

Real Name
    Nigel Holmes

Hi Charlie and welcome to CiC. Editing software depends on what you can afford to spend and what you would like to achieve. There are some very good free photo editing programs that range from basic (Picasa) to more complex (Gimp) to the expensive Light Room or Photoshop. As for the problem with the small red/ orange circles which sounds like lens flare but I may be wrong, it would be better if you could post one of the pictures so that the more experienced CiC members can offer you the best advice.

Looks like Donald has bet me to it.... I must learn how to type with more than one thumb!

Real Name
    Chris

Welcome Charlie. I'm about to order Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom.