Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Project 52 by Bob Murphy

Real Name
    Bob Murphy

Project 52 by Bob Murphy

My goal with this project is to try and improve, not only my photography, but myself.

Real Name
    Bob Murphy

Week 1

This photo i shot 2 days ago at Sandy Hook, NJ. It is a shot of 2 of the houses on Officer's Row from behind(towards the bay). The sun was setting and the colors looked amazing. Unfourtunatly my photo's didnt look as good. So I spend about an hour in CS5 tweaking the image.

Project 52 by Bob Murphy

As always comments and advice are welcome.

Bob

Real Name
    Mal

Re: Week 1

I see what you mean about the colours and the cloud formations looks interesting as well. For me the first thing that stands out is that the horizon isn't level. I find also that the the grassy foreground takes up too much of the photo and a tighter crop might work a bit better.

I'm still learning about post processing but perhaps you could try a gradient type edit to brighten the sky and bring out the colours more while keeping the silhouette effect of the houses in the foreground.

Hope this helps

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Following on from Malcolm's comment, the other thing to note is that because of the large amount of grass in the foreground, the houses sit on the half way line - probably the worst place they could be. So, if you were to crop out a significant proportion of the grass, the houses would be lower in the frame, making a much more balanced image.
    Last edited by Donald; 1st January 2012 at 10:50 AM.

Real Name
    Allen or "Lurchy" is fine

its a great shot, how ever there is a blue outline on the houses.

Real Name
    John

It would help if exif data were included so that I don't make the assumption that you were shooting with a high ISO.
    shutter 1/200s, ISO 100 (surprised it was so low), aperture f/10, spot metered, subject distance 3.49m (surprised so close), 55mm lens on Canon EOS T1i.