Thread: Camera selection opinions sought

Camera selection opinions sought

Hello!

I am Murali Nair, from kerala, in the southern tip of India. I am a marketing teacher at an Institute for Social Entrepreneurship.

It is really nice to read up on all the articles and posts here...

I have been shooting a bit with my D80 for 2 years now and am looking forward to some advice on buying a D700/D3 or Mark 5D/1D. I would be doing largely street photography and a bit of motor sport. There are many comparisons online, but somehow am not sure if 12.1 Mp of the Nikon would be enough and if they would upgrade the resolution of D3 in the near future.

Looking forward to your views...

Cheers!

Murali

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Camera selection opinions sought

Hi Murali,

The megapixel debate should have pretty much ended when cameras past the 8MP mark; I still print images up to 44" wide taken when I had an 8MP Canon 20D, and they look just fine. Now days I shoot with a 21MP Canon 1Ds3 - and they really don't look much different.

A couple of things to think about ...

1. Increasing resolution is a square-law function; if you have a print from an 8MP camera - and you want to double it - then you'll need a 32MP camera, because you need to double the resolution in both dimensions.

2. The bigger the print, the further the viewing distance - and thus the less detail that our eyes can resolve (the one exception being photographers in which case the minimum viewing distance is limited only by the length of their nose!)

In the "real world", in most cases, high MP count cameras give you the ability to get more agressive with cropping, but that's really about the only advantage that I can think of (unless your printing in high-end high-gloss magazines and really need those insane resolutions).