Blake

First Photo Post

First Photo Post

Olympus E-520, Zuiko 14-42 F3.5-5.6
    Shutter: 1/250s
    Aperture: F/5.6
    ISO: 100
    Focal Length: 42mm

Two things I'm wondering about this one, do the ducks in the lower right stand out enough against the reflections and the bridge, and are the colours/contrast alright? I think a colour calibrator would be a good investment, but I'm a university student, so money is tight!
    Last edited by blakemcguire; 16th December 2011 at 03:24 AM. Reason: Forgot EXIF data

Real Name
    Peter

Re: First Photo Post

Blake - to me, you can make out the ducks but there is no question that the primary focus of this image is the bridge. It is much brighter and draws the eye.

Which is great if that was your intention.

Real Name
    Scott Benz

Blake it is a good start to be sure. I am having a tough time locating a focal point. It should be the bridge and the ducks can certainly be omitted. The exposure on the bridge looks fair but overall I would say the image is a tick underexposed. Do you have any data on the settings or info on the PP efforts?

Real Name
    Blake

Quote Originally Posted by epmi314 View Post
    Blake it is a good start to be sure. I am having a tough time locating a focal point. It should be the bridge and the ducks can certainly be omitted. The exposure on the bridge looks fair but overall I would say the image is a tick underexposed. Do you have any data on the settings or info on the PP efforts?
    I'd say bringing out the focus is my weak point. I liked how the ducks were in line with the reflection of the bridge, but the bridge itself kind of imposed itself in the picture.

I'm not sure what you mean. I used UFraw and gimp to process it.

Real Name
    Philip