Thread: What is the cause of the color overlap in the final HDR image?

Real Name
    Steven Baglione

What is the cause of the color overlap in the final HDR image?

I am new to HDR. I use the Photomatix 4.1 program and so far I have made a few decent images. Presently the only post processing software I use is Canon's DPP, which I believe is somewhat limited. In the attached photo to the upper left of the building there is a diagonal line of orange sky. when I look at all of the source images, this doesnt exist. Can I assume that this is one of the things that tone mapping and merging creates? I am sure it could be corrected in a better PP program, but if any knows how to correct this in DPP please advise.

Also, after processing in Photomatix, which is best to save the image, as a Tiff file or Jpeg and please explain why.

Regards Bags.
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 11th December 2011 at 12:54 PM. Reason: added image and removed a few posts

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Re: What is the cause of the color overlap in the final HDR image?

Hi Bags! Nice composition. I use Photomatix as well but haven't noticed anything like this - it seems to continue to the right just above the pier as well.

I would try processing in Photomatix a second time using several of the defaults to see if it shows up in all of them or just the one you originally used. It would also be worthwhile to 'pixel-peep' the original file to see if it is there before you ran Photomatix. If you did a conversion to JPG from RAW before you ran Photomatix, see if it is in the original RAW (if you shoot RAW) or JPG SOOC image.

I save my images out of Photomatix as JPG as it is easier to work with than TIFF and I always merge back into the original using selections and masks. Hope this helps!

Sorry, but I can't help you on DDP. I'm sure others will chime in though.

Real Name
    Steven Baglione