Thread: Summer Reflection

Real Name
    Kevin

Summer Reflection

I was going through the photos that I took during the summer and I came across this one. I realized that this moment captured my eyes maybe because I saw the contrast between the light on the left and the darkness on the right. Anyway what do you guys think I should improve next time when i see a moment like this? By the way I'm a newbie Summer Reflection

by Five-shot, on Flickr

Thanks,

Kevin
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 4th December 2011 at 06:04 AM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Summer Reflection

Kevin

The first question that came into my head was 'What is the main subject?'

I appreciate that say it's an exercise in looking at light and shadow. But even with that and unless it's a totally abstract image, I think it needs to be a photograph of 'something', if you see what I mean.

Now we could say that it's about the angle and juxtaposition of the rail running away from us on the left and the handrail running away from us on the right. But if so, there are a number of things interfering with that. There are those modern-day bollards at the left-front. They don't seem to have any role to play on the image. The there is that young tree growing up out of railing quite close to the centre. And then there is the person sitting on the stair. Is he/she meant to be there? If os, then he/she needed to be given much more prominence. If not, then the image really need to be taken without him/her in the frame.

So, it's a;; about constructing the image and being aware of everything that's in the frame. We can have great ideas, but if the elements don't come together and 'work' in that rectangle we're looking at through the viewfinder, then we're not going to get a good image.