Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: The Guitar Teacher.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

The Guitar Teacher.

This shot came from the same set of images I took at my kid's music school. This is Bryan's guitar music teacher. A very young man but highly qualified to teach classical guitar method. Although I know how to play the guitar I am a very poor teacher when it comes to passing the knowledge that I know to my son, Bryan. I guess being attached to him as his father has something to do with it. But from time to time, when he encounters a difficult piece I play it for him so he would know how the rhythm goes and what fingering would work better on the notes.

I shot this on one of those very small music booths that they have in school. Having two guitarists inside the booth made it impossible for me to go in and take a good picture of both so in the end I have to resort to taking a picture of them one at a time. This is the better of the three shots I took. I Kept the image in color because of the character of his beard and the nice quality of the wood on his specially made guitar. I also like the B&W conversion of this one but I lost the impact of the colors on the guitar and his beard. I was able to take this shot by opening up the booths' door and position myself from the outside. I'm glad the teacher allowed me to do that though the outside noise is very distracting to his teaching session. The booth was lit by a fluorescent fixture.

Thank you very much for viewing.

The Guitar Teacher.
    Nikon D70, 50mm lens, ISO 800, f/2.2 @ 1/125 second.

rob marshall

Re: The Guitar Teacher.

Jiro

Much as I love you () I still think it needs a crop to eliminate the random stuff on the right. The original is just way too divided. Guess I've lost this one...

The Guitar Teacher.