Thread: Tree

Real Name
    Pritam

Tree

I don't know what tree this is but it stood out in the landscape as quite distinguished from the others, prompting me to take a shot. Not sure if the photograph brings out what I saw in it.

Comments and critique welcomed.

Tree

Real Name
    Allen or "Lurchy" is fine

Re: Tree

its a beautiful shot. few things though(although im a beginner sorry)

The cyclist can be distracting(although it seems a good place to ride)
    If i took this photo i would prob crop it so its only the tree and its shadow and either waited for the cyclest to clear(although i prob wouldnt notice him when taking the shot) or get ride of him in PP.

And to me the huge amount of green grass in the bottem left is a bit distracting aswell.

But thats my opinion, and as a whole i do like the photo

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Before offering any comment, can I ask you, Pritam, for your own analysis, particularly in light of your comment, "Not sure if the photograph brings out what I saw in it."

This maybe suggests that it doesn't. And I'm interested in your own view of what that might be. What is it that you think might be missing?

Real Name
    Pritam

Thanks, Allen. We were on a walk at the time. I did see the cyclist. In fact I watched him for all the part of the road that is visible in the picture. My first thought was to let him pass till he was out of the frame... It seemed a really long wait, what with the uphill task the cyclist had on his hands [I]and[I] especially with the wife having walked a fair way ahead, the pressure built on me to press the shutter release button! I knew I should have waited, but did I want to risk an exasperated lady..? Here is the result.