Thread: Complete DSLR Beginner - Advice on best value camera to start with?

Complete DSLR Beginner - Advice on best value camera to start with?

Hello!

I'm looking into buying my first DSLR camera (am very excited!) and would like some advice about where to begin, as it seems there is a vast amount of information out there concerning DSLR cameras, all of which is a little daunting. I am a student and so my budget is limited to £400, at max. Basically from the DSLR I'm looking to acquire basic skills in photography upon which I can build once I have found an area that I'm particularly interested in - at the moment I just want to photograph everything! I'm also particularly interested in photo editing and enhancing, and am slightly confused about RAW and JPEG formats! I have looked at the Canon EOS 1100D, and was wondering if anyone would have any advice on this? Am open to other recommendations also and any general advice that will get me on the road to creating beautiful photos!

Thanks in advance

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Complete DSLR Beginner - Advice on best value camera to start with?

Jenny

Photography can become an enormously and outrageously expensive hobby. The first fundamental principle is set your budget and stay within it.

And the second is that great images are created by the person behind the camera, not by the camera which is just a box for capturing light with a bit of glass on the front to take that light into the box.

Sure, the boxes with lots of bells and whistles do make more options available. But then if you can't have them, then you work within the limitations of what you do have and turn your attention to subject matter that can be captured as well on the equipment you do have as on the very high-end spec stuff. For example, great landscapes don't need thousand and thousands worth of equipment. They need a photographer with vision and a well-developed eye for composition.