Thread: Very green! Would like help, feedback, criticism, you name it!

Real Name
    Lynn Fox

Very green! Would like help, feedback, criticism, you name it!

Hello, I am VERY new to photography. I am here to learn and appreciate any advice as my family can not be relied on to give me anything less than a compliment. The image is of my 2 year old son. It was taken in front of our bay window in morning light with a Nikon F1.8 lens. It was really just a snapshot because I thought he looked cute and he was kind enough to ignore the camera while I fooled around with it in Aperature Priority. I am that green... I am just trying to learn how to take it out of Auto mode...

Included the original pic and one that I made bw and softened as well as edited the scratch on his cheek.

Real Name
    Mal

Re: Very green! Would like help, feedback, criticism, you name it!

I'm sure some of the portrait experts will be along soon to help give some pointers. I'm only new to the whole photo thing but from my perspective I think the image could actually use a little sharpening rather than softening. Not sure what aperture you used but if you used 1.8 that could be why one of your son's eyes is a little out of focus - very shallow depth of field at 1.8 close up. Just got my 50mm 1.8 delivered yesterday and have run into a similar issue.

The black and white seems to work well though - if you could darken the background I think it would make your son stand out more. Also, not sure if the photo is cropped at all but I think a bit of negative space on the left of the image would work as well.

Real Name
    Lynn Fox

Thank you. I didn't do any cropping. I am finding I have a tendancy to fill the frame with my subject and rarely leave enough room for cropping. I need to work on that as it has caused me trouble many times in the past. I can't recall the aperture I used but it likely was 1.8 as I remember concentrating on trying to blur the background.