Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Help! Lenses for Nikon D7000

Real Name
    Yinan

Help! Lenses for Nikon D7000

Hello everyone, I'm getting a Nikon D7000 in a few weeks but I haven't decided on which lenses to get.
    I'm only buying the camera body, not with the kit. I just don't think I would need the lens that comes with it.
    I know for sure that I'm getting a Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G, but I don't know what else to get.
    I'm a student and I use a camera mostly for portraits and sometimes landscapes.
    Should I get a lens that could change focus or is 35/1.8 enough? Which ones would be good to get? My budget is around $800....

I thought getting a fisheye lens would be fun, but I think Nikon has a program inside that allows you to get that effect?

Thanks everyone!

Re: Help! Lenses for Nikon D7000

Yes Nikon can do the fisheye in the camera software. I'd skip the fisheye lens and go for a 50mm prime or an 85 prime if you are into portraits, as the 35 will let you take some great landscapes. Once you use those more you can see if you want a wider angle lens.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by Milzarr View Post
    Hello everyone, I'm getting a Nikon D7000 in a few weeks but I haven't decided on which lenses to get.
    I'm only buying the camera body, not with the kit. I just don't think I would need the lens that comes with it.
    I know for sure that I'm getting a Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G, but I don't know what else to get.
    I'm a student and I use a camera mostly for portraits and sometimes landscapes.
    Should I get a lens that could change focus or is 35/1.8 enough? Which ones would be good to get? My budget is around $800....

I thought getting a fisheye lens would be fun, but I think Nikon has a program inside that allows you to get that effect?

Thanks everyone!
    Hi "Milzarr",