Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Choice: Canon Rebel, Nikon D 7000 or Sony 65 or 77

Real Name
    David Lapin

Choice: Canon Rebel, Nikon D 7000 or Sony 65 or 77

I'm new to photography but want a camera that I can grow with. Will use it mainly for shots of faces taken from a distance, nature and wildlife. I'm intrigued by light, it's textures and how it falls on different surfaces at different times of day. Will need to invest in a few really good lenses too. But any recommendations for the camera? Am I looking at the right models (any of these will work with
    my budget) and if so which should I go for? I an concerned the Sony doesnt have Live View (why ever not?) Appreciate your help a lot.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Choice: Canon Rebel, Nikon D 7000 or Sony 65 or 77

Hi David,

Welcome to the CiC forums from me.

I'm not familiar with the Sony models, but the Nikon D7000 is probably a couple of levels above the Canon Rebel, which makes me wonder about your budget? Both what you were thinking for the camera body, and a total for lenses, plus lots of stuff you may not have considered; even down to a Post Processing programme for your computer.

Could you Edit your Profile and give us a Location please?
    It helps us to advise you in your currency and national stores, etc.

It may be of help to know if this will be merely a hobby, or potentially something more?

For widest choice of lenses, I could order the list of manufacturers for you as: Canon (most) to Sony (least) with Nikon in the middle, but beyond that, a camera body from any those manufacturers will be sufficient - how much you spend depends on other things, mainly your total budget available (unfortunately).

Cheers,

Real Name
    David Lapin