Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Colour/Monochrome Roxy

Colour/Monochrome Roxy

Here are a couple of images from our recent Caribean trip. Picture taken of Atlantic at Bathsheba Beach, Barbados
    Same scene plus my first attempt at conversion from colour to Black & White (in PSE7).

Colour/Monochrome Roxy

Colour/Monochrome Roxy

I'd appreciate comments please on

a.. the image itself
    b.. preference as to colour or B/W

c.. if the B/W is preferred,could a more pleasing B/W be achieved with a different/more sophisticated technique?

thanks roxy
    Last edited by Roxy; 2nd May 2009 at 05:57 AM. Reason: add copy

Real Name
    David

Re: Colour/Monochrome Roxy

Hi Roxy - You raise a perennial question regarding colour or monochrome (B/W). I'm not an expert so the following are simply my ideas. The colour image shows waves dashing against rocks with a background of rocky and hilly landscape. While there is colour in the image, there is little variation, no bright reds, deep greens, vibrant yellows. However, there is marked tonal variation from white (?blown) water to almost black rocks with mid tones in the sea and the landscape.. To me all this would be described as an image with a restricted palette (of colour) but a goodish tonal range. Thus, it would be a candidate for monochrome as the colours are not that critical to the message of the image.

Now looking at the B/W image, I do think the whites are clipped and there appears little detail in the waves themselves. Perhaps that is an artefact of these posted images and your originals have more structure in the waves. However, the tonal variation is there and, to my mind, an enhanced sense of cold and wet and energy. In the Ansel Adams zoning score there are probably 5 or even 6 zones covered from light to dark, so that's not bad. Whether the tones are compositional well arranged might be another matter, but you can't ask the sea to conform to such a matter. Thus, I prefer the B/W.