Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First attempt at postings pics - Zoo photos FZ100- C&C welcome

Real Name
    Helen Wood

First attempt at postings pics - Zoo photos FZ100- C&C welcome

Hi Everyone
    I'm a relative newbie with digital photography and have just gotten a camera that has full manual control. Here are some of my first attempts with this camera. These are SOOC - I have PSE 9 and Lightroom 3 to learn as well so have lots to keep me busy through the winter My immediate question would be do these need additional sharpening. Do you apply additional sharpending only if you want to print?? First attempt  at  postings  pics -  Zoo photos  FZ100- C&C welcome

First attempt  at  postings  pics -  Zoo photos  FZ100- C&C welcome
    First attempt  at  postings  pics -  Zoo photos  FZ100- C&C welcome

I know the polar bear needs the most work and the highlights are likely clipped - would appreciate some advice on the best approach on this one

Thanks

Real Name
    Toņo

Re: First attempt at postings pics - Zoo photos FZ100- C&C welcome

Hi Helen

Congrats for your new camera!

I like the second image better.

The polar bear looks out of focus to me.

Toņo

Real Name
    Mark

Hi Helen,

#1 might work with a tight crop to get rid of the log, # 2 works well nice capture, #3 looks out of focus im no post processing guru as im just learning as well but i dont think you will be able to correct this. Im sure one of the others will be able to verify this.

mark

For me, Helen, the first two are a fraction tight to the frame edge. I would prefer a little bit more space between the faces and frame. But only a little bit more. I tend to pull back a little when composing my shots then crop slightly.

This gives me a second chance to think about the exact positioning and sometimes allows me a bit of rotation room.