Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Lightroom-3 on sale at amazon.com

Real Name
    Richard

Lightroom-3 on sale at amazon.com

AMAZON.COM (USA) is advertising the full ADOBE LIGHTROOM-3 program for ($USD) 150.00 with free shipping in the USA. This is the same price that I paid for the educational edition of this program but, this seems to be the full program without the student/faculty purchase requirement.

http://www.amazon.com/Adobe-65064073...1023574&sr=8-1

Real Name
    John

Re: Lightroom-3 on sale at amazon.com

Richard, thanks for the tip. I'm using Elements 10. Does LR interface with Elements 10? Is LR a substitute (improvement over) E10? I'm a novice photog... but working to improve my camera and processing skills; really trying to keep from going crazy in retirement (for me, retirement is not as nice as it is for some; I HATE the boredom, but I am enjoying the time with photography). Thanks for any advice.

Real Name
    Mark

Hi John, Lightroom is a powerful cataloging program with the same adobe raw processing feature that
    photoshop has, you will find that it will do most of the editing that you need and will export only the occasional image to your photoshop program for further editing. It has other very useful features, such as DNG conversion, slide show production, and loads of other stuff, you can download it free to use for a month from adobe so give it a try.

Real Name
    John

Thanks, Mark, for the tip. Photoshop sounds tempting, but not at the price, when I'm such a novice. Not so hard to part with $150, but WAY hard to part with 7 or 8 hundred, if you know what I mean
    OTOH, I'm not straining PSE10 much, either..

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi John,

As Mark says, LR is a different thing to PSE10, you'll still need that anyway.