Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: "I always shoot Raw"

Real Name
    Philip

"I always shoot Raw"

As a novice I read articles about digital photography that I can find (for free!) on the Web. The general consensus of experienced photographers appears to be “Always shoot Raw”. I am not qualified to challenge this, but I have a few observations that prompt questions for you here.

The technology for digital photography has moved forward in leaps and bounds, and will continue to do so. An old, high quality DSLR might have recorded 6 megapixel images with limited in-camera control, and some photographers still use them to create great images. But now cameras with 16 or more MP sensors and a wide range of adjustments are becoming common.

Similarly software, both for in-camera firmware and for post-processing, improves continuously. The latest computer photo editors seem to be capable of performing miraculous adjustments for all the parameters of any image in any common file format.

Obviously the quantity of data recorded in the Raw files of a modern camera is more than in their Jpeg images but, if file size is any indication, it would seem that the high quality Jpeg images of some modern cameras appear to contain as much data for editing as the Raw images of older DSLRs.

At 100% a 16MP Jpeg image would have been enlarged to about 4 feet wide and it would probably still look good. However, most monitors are much smaller than 4 feet, so evidence of image quality is usually presented on the Web as 100% crops from full size images.

In those from 16MP images in current DSLR camera test reports, the differences between an ACR processed Jpeg from Raw image crop and an out-of-camera Jpeg image crop seem insignificant to me. So at A3 - the biggest I can print - the differences in the original images must be imperceptible.

So I ask the following question to continue the teaching/thinking/learning process -